Carissa's Closet

Warning: Drama Ahead

with 11 comments

This morning I received a request for a blog to be added to the FashionFeedofSL.com syndication, along with the following comment:

This shows up on your feed: http://darkedenplaza.blogspot.com/2008/12/new-shibari-xmas-sets.html

And this feed is the best of SL eh? Maybe I should make stuff like this to be concidered for a free open advertising line for my stuff since your feed is not about people blogging fashion. It is now all about you allowing your firends to get an advertising advantage. As well as pay for bloggers.

I was extremely confused and a bit upset. Honestly, having no idea what point was being driven at, and so I responded via email:

I can’t monitor the feed 24/7. DarkEden is not a friend. Do you honestly believe sending me a syndication request and then being rude is going to make me want to add you?

What advertising advantage? Pay for bloggers? Do you have any idea what you’re talking about?

And thankfully received a response clarifying:

Yes the pay for blogging stuff is the latest trend amongst an increasing number of the so-called fashion bloggers.

Somehow “swirley” managed to get on these feeds and blogged about male genitals on a necklace followed up by the apparent mockery blog about offering pay for blogging. This comes after the story was broken on metaversally speaking. Seems there are a number of bloggers all engaged in advetorials instead of honest blogging. You, as a syndicator, are partially responsible for promoting this corrupt behavior whether you like it or know it or not.

You should require a massive payment for each post on your feed as it is one of the heaviest advertising mediums in SL today. Why let the bloggers keep all the money? The jig is up Everyone knows the bloggers are being paid. Why shouldn’t you get a piece of the action?

The other beef I have is most of these “bloggers” are just promoting their own releases and it isn’t even blogging at all. It is just a flickr feed for posting new releases now. Thus why I object to the pick and choose who gets to post their new releases. It smacks of elitism and cliques. It isn’t about reviewing anything anymore.

Other than that I apologize for being abrupt. It has become painfully obvious there is discrimination by a consortium of so-called designers to keep new and superior talent down thus entrenching themselves. If you are not a willing participant in this discrimination then I applaud you and apologize sincerly.

After a while it builds up and then I see dick necklaces and other awful stuff coming through and I have to wonder about the legitimacy. Given the advertising medium it is perhaps you really do need to turn it into a paid business so you can hire the staff necessary to moderate all posts and remove people that are tarnishing the image. As to how one might keep corrupt bloggers off well that would be interesting since you can’t tell who is a paid blogger short of getting people to see if someone is only blogging for cash and even then it would be hard and too much time involved. Thus why may as well make it pay to play period.

Again I apologize. I got angry and vented. Sorry for messsing up a moment in your day.

I really wanted to clear a few things up, because goodness knows if anyone else feels this way, but here are my thoughts and my stand on the FashionFeedofSL.com, which I responded:

I really do appreciate you following up with me and explaining what you meant in your short comment. FashionFeedofSL is and always will be a labor of love for me. I started it because I was tired of some of the things you mentioned on FashionPlanet. It began as a personal aggregator of my favorite blogs, but I shared it with my friends and they loved it so much that it went public.

That being said, it will always represent my personal tastes and interests for posts I want to see. Anyone with half a brain knows that Swirly is a parody blogger, and she makes me smile…I <3 her.
As far as your idea that there is a discrimination against unknown designers, I have to strongly disagree with you. Some of my new favorite designers were discovered after they sent a syndication request for the feed. Specifically Cocoro Lemon of COCO Designs and Solitude Hermit of Gypsy Soul.

I really try to be fair in my selection, but at the end of the day, it is my feed. People can choose to view or not view it. They can choose to read Fashion Planet, or labor the agonizing hours that I have to make their own.

As far as advertising goes, I do offer legitimate advertising on a pay basis, but this is only to cover the costs I have spent for domain registration and hosting with unlimited space and bandwidth. I am paid in Linden and every single one gets spent in world to the very designers being represented on the FashionFeedofSL.

I did take a moment to review your blog and I was very torn after your very cryptic and harsh comment included with the request. I would like to add it, but I can’t condone or support the sort of “light the torch man hunt” propoganda you are preaching.

At this point I haven’t finalized my decision.

Thank you for your response,
Cari

If you’ve gotten this far, thanks for reading. I normally wouldn’t post about something so personal but I felt the matter needed to be addressed and the air cleared. I welcome any comments.

Written by Carissa Crimson

December 12, 2008 at 9:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m still kind of shaking my head that this person didn’t realize Swirly is a parody and thought those necklaces (which were blogged about HOW long ago? Talk about being behind the times…) were legit. Nuttiness!

    Anyway I think you handled it as best as you could. Props to you.

    mearad

    December 12, 2008 at 10:02 pm

  2. Thank goodness there are bitter, resentful people out there to help you monitor the quality of the feed by providing such helpful feedback.

    I can’t believe someone was silly enough to include that comment with their request to be added to the feed! Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.

    Stephanie Misfit

    December 12, 2008 at 10:54 pm

  3. This person seems to believe that Encore Mayne is representative of the average blogger. The actual story at Metaversally Speaking http://www.pradprathivi.com/pradprathivi/business/review-blogs-to-charge-or-not-to-charge
    makes it quite clear that the fashion bloggers’ consensus opinion is that getting paid to blog is unethical, so I would fault the person who wrote to you as lacking the most basic level of reading comprehension in addition to being rude.

    Which makes me curious why he rates a reply?

    Cajsa Lilliehook

    December 12, 2008 at 11:44 pm

  4. I told Etain of Dark Eden to join your feed when you first started it, I am glad I did,whoever that person is who wrote the comment and the follow through doesn’t even begin to have the class that Etain does.

    I wrote so much more, but for once I am just going to stew in it, keep doing what you do Carissa the feed you made, and all of the feeds people have worked so hard to put together – with the total intent of getting NEW Designers items shown – is just wonderful, and if this particular person was around when you did start it, and knew the history behind yours and the others, they would never have said such things.

    xox Sasy xox

    sasyscarborough

    December 13, 2008 at 1:23 am

  5. I don’t think anyone understands the cost of hosting a feed that is publicly accessed. I am sorry you had to deal with this. It’s a full moon. :/

    Thanks for having me on your feed. :)

    kesseret

    December 13, 2008 at 2:56 am

  6. People who “game the system” will always be a regrettable aspect of SL and this includes people who pay to have their items blogged and bloggers who accept such payment. There is a fundamental dishonesty to this practice as it becomes in effect advertising masquerading as a disinterested review.
    Carissa, it’s nice to “meet”(so to speak):) the person behind the feed. Thank you so much for what you do. I remember how excited I was when I first started posting and Mourna told me about the fashion feeds.
    At this point, it’s hard for me to imagine my SL life without them.

    Grady Echegaray

    December 13, 2008 at 3:49 pm

  7. I should clarify that the article I wrote on Metaversally Speaking stated that none of the bloggers have accepted payment in Lindens for any of the items they have reviewed.

    So yes.. I concur with Cajsa about questioning this person’s reading comprehension.

    Prad Prathivi

    December 15, 2008 at 11:37 am

  8. Thanks, Prad.

    Why the heck don’t these people simply ask the bloggers they aim at…? jeebus!

    Ana Lutetia

    December 16, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  9. now I am suffering from reading comprehension after reading her/his reasoning. lol

    maddox dupont

    December 17, 2008 at 7:49 am

  10. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    RaiulBaztepo

    March 29, 2009 at 12:35 am

  11. Hello ! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: what was the reasson for you to start this blog?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you:)
    Your Piter

    PiterKokoniz

    April 8, 2009 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

