Carissa's Closet

Blog Posts

with 11 comments

I just wanted to take a minute and clarify some of my blog posts. If I am given or request items for Review, I will label them as [Review] as I did for the DigitDarkes & Diversity Hair [review].

However, if I post about something I find while out shopping and want to share, I don’t consider it a review. Obviously I love it or I wouldn’t be blogging about it. For example, I wrote LBD Revolution because I was excited to share it, but it seems that LeeZu’s items and the bloggers who have posted about them are coming under a bit of criticism due to the pricing. There was a reason I spent an hour trying to decide on ONE of the Revolution ensembles. They aren’t inexpensive (with the one I selected taking a $14ooL chunk out of my wallet) but I love it down to the last prim. And guess what? I love the collection so much and find it so worth the money that I went back yesterday and did another $1100L worth of damage to my balance.

 The thing is…designers get to put their own value on their creations, not the people consuming them. If you can’t afford it, then don’t buy it. It’s like my $200 Seven Jeans in real life. I certainly don’t see nearly as many girls running around in those as I do my $20 jeans from Old Navy. Is there a huge difference in quality? in craftsmanship? not really…but I do so LOVE what Sevens do to my booty. So I buy them. I love LeeZu’s innovation and the artistry of her designs. So I buy it.

Ok. I’ve rambled enough.

Signature

Written by Carissa Crimson

November 14, 2007 at 9:39 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hrmm, I read that review at the Life by Proxy blog; interesting piece.

    What I got out of it was that blog author wasn’t pointing solely at the pricing; rather, she was looking at the quality of the clothing articles and calling into question whether it was commensurable with the price tag. I certainly don’t believe that affordability was her point, either, because (1) clearly she could afford it (she bought it after all) and (2) she stated unequivocally that she -wanted- to love the items and be able to say that yes, this was totally worth the money she blew on it.

    It is true that the designers have final say in regards to what their work is worth. I think it’s erroneous, however, to dismiss the consumer as having little or no impact on pricing practice — it is the consumer, after all, who provides the monetary half of the equation. The designer can affix whatever price to the poster prim s/he deems fit, but really it’s the consumer masses, those people who vote with their wallets so to speak, who will determine whether the price they’ve set is in proportion to the item being sold.

    melaniekiddofsl

    November 14, 2007 at 10:50 pm

  2. Carissa,

    I would like to clarify for just a second, as the link you posted is back to my own blog. To begin with, I never critiqued the bloggers who like the designs from LBD. (In fact, last week I personally posted a positive review of sweaters I had purchased from there.) I, however, was disappointed by the quality for the Linden in two of the items that I purchased. I acknowledged, repeatedly, that it wasn’t that I couldn’t afford the clothing and in fact have items that are incredibly pricey in my inventory – but the quality of those items justified the cost… and with the two items that I mentioned that I purchased from LBD, I didn’t feel as though the construction didn’t warrant the higher price.

    My blog was also written to deal with “The Emperor’s New Clothes” phenomenon I see happening in both SL and RL fashion… throwing a bunch of stuff on an outfit, labeling it “high fashion” and adding another zero on the price tag doesn’t mean that you’ve actually accomplished a design coup d’etat… it doesn’t mean that there’s artistry there that some of the other design houses produce. And in this case… with the outfit I wrote about… that’s exactly what I saw happening.

    If you read the rest of the comments, which have been surprisingly respectful in my opinion, I’m not the only one who feels that way.

    You mention here that designers have the right to price their products however they see fit – and again, I agree. As I said in my blog, an item is worth what someone’s willing to pay for it… and if the market will bear it, rack it up, man. But what you’re seeing in those comments is that this may be a case where the market WON’T bear the prices established by the designers mentioned.

    Now, the “other” bloggers being mentioned in the comments on my blog are bloggers who opt not to say anything negative and instead write positive, raving reviews at every minute. One of the comments even indicated that there are surprisingly few bloggers writing about LBD – and she’s right, that’s gotta say something.

    The thing that I want to make clear is that I will never, ever criticize what other bloggers are writing… the pages are theirs and how they choose to use them is their own choice. And if I choose to do something different because of what I see on those pages, that’s also my prerogative.

    kristiannematfield

    November 14, 2007 at 11:01 pm

  3. I understand what you are saying Melanie. My post wasn’t intended to point a finger or disagree with the Life by Proxy post. My intent was to explain why I post the way I do and for what reasons as well as offer my own commentary on the pricing issue.

    As far as quality goes. Mismatched seams, poor textures, and impossible to fit prims are bad quality. I saw the differing metals of the hardware as a deliberate artistic decision. The Life by Proxy post began with a description of “can’t live without them” jeans that the author purchased despite the price but then led to an issue with mismatched buttons.

    carissacrimson

    November 14, 2007 at 11:04 pm

  4. I really don’t understand you saying, ” The thing is…designers get to put their own value on their creations, not the people consuming them. If you can’t afford it, then don’t buy it.”

    Well, yes, of course designers can set their own prices. But reviews of almost any product in real life includes a mention of value for the money… and yes, I realize that a Vera Wang gown is expected to be pricey and one from K-Mart is not.

    But, still, if designers are going to price themselves higher than just about anyone in their category, they should be able to withstand reviews and critiques that mention or question that pricing.

    No one is holding a gun to anyone’s head to make her change her pricing. She can do what she wants, but so can I – and that includes making and reading comments and opinions both positive and negative. I resent this attitude of buy it or don’t buy and shut-up. I resent it a LOT. Of course Leezu has nothing to do with that and did not say that herself, and I wish her the best of luck in her endeavors. But perhaps someone should email you a copy of the First Amendment.

    concernedfashionista

    November 15, 2007 at 12:44 am

  5. So what DOES Seven jeans do to a booty? I’m a total denim addict.

    smiletenshi

    November 15, 2007 at 1:48 am

  6. “but it seems that LeeZu’s items and the bloggers who have posted about them are coming under a bit of criticism due to the pricing”

    did i miss something? you are referring to kristianne’s post? anyone posting reviews of LeeZu’s clothing has the right to criticize (look it up ref. 2). that’s what we do. the term, in and of itself is not negative unless you see your role differently.

    while i try to give the designer as much respect for the terrifyingly arduous job of applying their textures and distorting their prims for their garments; it’s also my job to (respectfully) share my point of view as a consumer and “critic”.

    i’m not privileged to know what type of communications other bloggers have with their designers. i, for one, tend to communicate directly with them before, during, and after. if there are other bloggers out there taking the heat for writing more glowing reports on LeeZu (as you seem to imply) i’d like to see your reference. i sure didn’t get that from kristianne’s post or any of the comments (even if there were any fashion bloggers commenting).

    EnCore Mayne

    November 15, 2007 at 10:28 am

  7. Oh no! I was not implying and never intended to say that Kristianne was criticizing other bloggers, and I sincerely apologize for not being more clear. It was the comments to her posts referring to bloggers fears to give accurate reviews, and specifically this comment made by RedDawn (who I have to say I saw shopping at LBD after my post and was in the Revolutions room where I was for a good half an hour)
    “I’m so glad to read such an honest post like this. I seriously ignore over half the “reviews” I see in the blog space as they tend to be little more than fan girl adoration posts. ”

    This post was meant to say. I’m no fan girl, but it was a semi adoration post. Because I loved what I bought. EVERYONE is entitled to their opinion, I would never ever dispute that. I was just offering my own. ConcernedFashionista, I am aware of the first amendment…and no where in any of my words did I tell ANYONE to shut up, and it makes me sad that you would assume I’m the type of person who would.

    carissacrimson

    November 15, 2007 at 2:10 pm

  8. I apologize if my comments offended you Carissa as they were not made in regard to any particular blogger. I had not seen your review on LBD, and my comment was in no way meant as a critique or criticism on your particular post. My intent was to support Kristianne’s post, especially as she acknowledge the difficulty she had in deciding whether or not to post a negative review.

    I still stand by my statement that I find many posts on many blogs to be adorations rather than actual reviews. I agree that anyone has the right to post anything they like. However, the same goes for anyone wanting to call those posts how they see them, or to write a review that comes to a different conclusion.

    I’ll also say that I personally put little credibility in reviews from bloggers that ask for or accept review copies. To me, that represents an inherent conflict of interest leading to the exchange of positive posts for free outfits. I do appreciate your clarifying how and what you blog – not everyone does.

    I do find your comment “if you can’t afford it, don’t buy it” to be insulting. You seem to suggest that if we don’t like something you do that happens to be expensive, we must be too cheap or too poor. Wouldn’t it have been better and less derisive to just say “if you don’t like it, don’t buy it?”

    I was at LBD the other day, I did look around the Revolutions area, and yet I did not buy any of the outfits. Which was totally my choice and had nothing to do with my Linden balance nor a lack of personal style. It was simply that I didn’t see anything that I liked.

    Oh – and I love Seven Jeans regardless of the ridiculous price – so we are in agreement on something. 🙂

    reddawnbade

    November 15, 2007 at 9:47 pm

  9. RedDawn…glad we have the love of Sevens in common.

    Thank you for your comments, I can tell you put alot of thought into it and I understand where you’re coming from…except for one thing.

    You say “I’ll also say that I personally put little credibility in reviews from bloggers that ask for or accept review copies. To me, that represents an inherent conflict of interest leading to the exchange of positive posts for free outfits.”

    I fail to see the conflict of interest from that position. Free or otherwise, I don’t think anyone wants a crappy outfit. From my standpoint, I do have a hard time trashing a designer. If I receive something for review that I find substandard, I usually contact the designer and discuss it personally rather than ripping them apart publicly. If I like something overall but notice a few issues I will clearly state that in my review. It’s like the Diversity Hair review. I’m really just NOT a fan of the textures, and I say so.

    As far as bloggers accepting review copies, that is how a lot of designers are even discovered in SL. I think it would be really sad if a designer put love and thought and hours of work into their inventory and then had the agony of waiting for someone to stumble upon their store.

    I’m a shopoholic in the worst way, so review copies are not about getting something for free. My policy clearly states that any items will be returned on request.

    Oh…and I really really wasn’t trying to be insulting with the “if you can’t afford it, don’t buy it” comment.

    carissacrimson

    November 15, 2007 at 10:07 pm

  10. *Madi considers badgering Aston Martin because she REALLY wants a perfectly beautiful car but can’t afford it. How dare they price their stunningly crafted vehicles outside of her price range! Oh but wait, they do make an amazing car…*

    CC, as always, you take a classy stand in the wake of the tumultuous waters that surround SL Fashion Bloggers. While it’s a designer’s perogative to price their wares as they see fit, I certainly would be unhappy paying a huge amount for sub-standard items. However, if the item is crafted well and truly different, perhaps the niche-market pricing is worthy, and that, like fashion in general, is often held in the eye of the beholder or in this case consumer.

    Madi

    November 16, 2007 at 4:49 pm

  11. Carissa

    Thanks for pointing out the service provided by bloggers to both fashion consumers as well as designers regarding review copies. I appreciate the work that is done to share works and spotlight new designers. I use review copy posts to add to my “check it out” shopping lists (yes – I admit it, I’m a shopaholic too!). And no, I can’t imagine anyone wanting a crappy outfit even if it’s free.

    What I was trying to say is that I’ll take a more hesitant view towards a review copy post than say a personal recommendation from a friend. The review copy item – to me – functions more like advertising. It’s neither good nor bad, it’s just another piece of information about what’s available. It’s no different than saying I ascribe a higher value to the content of certain blogs over others based on what I’ve read in the past, my personal opionions, and even my personal biases.

    And for full disclosure, they day you saw me at LBD I bought a jacket that I like (it’s the same one on Tenshi’s post). I was there looking for a sweater that I somehow missed while distracted, though I will be going back to LBD to find it.

    reddawnbade

    November 17, 2007 at 7:52 pm


Leave a Reply

